ACDP Banner
The ACDP Distinguished Service Award is presented annually to someone who has given long and illustrious service to ACDP, physiology as a discipline, and/or the field of science in general. 

The awardee is selected by the President in consultation with ACDP Council. Awardees receive all-expenses paid trip to the annual ACDP meeting.

The award was formally known as the Outstanding Teaching Award but in 1978 its focus and name were expanded to the current Distinguished Service Award. 

Distinguished Service Awardees

  Name    Year        Name 
  Gary C. Sieck, Ph.D.
Mayo Clinic College of Medicine



Celia D. Sladik, Ph.D. 
University of Colorado, Denver



Hershel Raff, Ph.D.
Medical College of Wisconsin




Susan Barman, Ph.D.
Michigan State University



John E. Hall, Ph.D.
Univ. of Mississippi Medical Center




Michael J. Joyner, M.D. 
Mayo Clinic



Allen W. Cowley, Jr., Ph.D.
Medical College of Wisconsin




Ernest M. Wright, Ph.D., D.Sc.
Univ. of California, Los Angeles



R. John Solaro, Ph.D.
Univ. of Illinois, Chicago




John A. Williams, M.D., Ph.D.
Univ. of Michigan



Phyllis M. Wise, Ph.D.
Univ. of Washington




Irving H. Zucker, Ph.D.
Univ. of Nebraska Medical Center



William H. Dantzler, M.D., Ph.D.
Univ. of Arizona




Antonio Scarpa, M.D., Ph.D.
National Institutes of Health



No awardee - Joint meeting with AAMC




Daniel C. Tosteson, M.D.
Harvard Medical School



L. Gabriel Navar, Ph.D.
Tulane Univ.




Gabor Kaley, Ph.D.
New York Medical College



Mordecai P. Blaustein, M.D.
Univ. of Maryland School of Medicine




Paul C. Johnson, Ph.D.
Univ. of Arizona School of Medicine



F. Norman Briggs, Ph.D.
Medical College of Virginia




Norman R. Alpert, Ph.D.
Univ. of Vermont College of Medicine



Carlton C. Hunt, M.D.
Washington Univ. School of Medicine




Arthur C. Guyton, M.D.
Univ. of Mississippi Medical Center



Aubrey E. Taylor, Ph.D.
Univ. of South Alabama College of Medicine




Stanley G. Schultz, M.D.
Univ. of Texas, Houston Medical School



Edward J. Masoro, Ph.D.
Univ. of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio




Gerhard H. Giebisch, M.D.
Yale Univ.



No Awardee




John T. Shepherd, M.D.
Mayo Clinic & Foundation



Walter C. Randall, Ph.D.
Loyola Univ. Stritch School of Medicine




William F. Ganong, M.D.
Univ. of California, San Francisco



Howard E. Morgan, M.D.
Pennsylvania State Univ. Milton S. Hershey Medical Center




Horace Davenport, Ph.D., Sc.D.
Univ. of Michigan Medical School



A. Clifford Barger, M.D.
Harvard Univ. Medical School




Harry D. Patton, M.D., Ph.D.
Univ. of Washington School of Medicine



Ernst Knobil, Ph.D.
Univ. of Texas Medical School




Hermann Rahn, Ph.D.
Univ. at Buffalo



Robert W. Berliner, M.D.
Yale Univ. School of Medicine




George Sayers, Ph.D.
Case Western Reserve Univ.



Ewald E. Selkurt, Ph.D.
Indiana Univ. School of Medicine




William F. Ganong, M.D.
Univ. of California, San Francisco

Outstanding Teaching Awardees
  Name    Year        Name 



C. Ladd Prosser, Ph.D.
Univ. of Illinois, Urbana




Robert M. Berne, M.D.
Western Reserve Univ.



Arthur C. Guyton, M.D.
Univ. of Mississippi




Julius H. Comroe, Jr., M.D.
Univ. of California, San Francisco



Maurice Visscher, M.D., Ph.D.
Univ. of Minnesota




Robert F. Pitts, M.D., Ph.D.
Cornell Univ.