## ACDP Meeting Highlights\_\_\_\_\_

## Association of Chairs of Departments of Physiology Meeting Highlights

The Association of Chairs of Departments of Physiology (ACDP) held its annual meeting at NOW Larimar Hotel, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic, on November 28–December 2, 2012.

President Marshall (Chip) Montrose (Univ. of Cincinnati) developed a program focused on national and local issues being currently faced by department chairs and a scientific program highlighting the diverse science in the discipline.

Research talks included the sixth Arthur C. Guyton Lectureship given by Irena Levitan (Univ. of Illinois at Chicago) on "Cholesterol Regulation of K+ Channels: From Biophysics to Vascular Biology." The new chair research presentation was by Geoffrey Hammond (Univ. of British Columbia) on "Integrating the Pure and Applied Sciences into Biomedical Research: Unprecedented **Opportunities** Innovation." In addition, Ernest Wright (ACDP Distinguished Service Awardee from Univ. of California, Los Angeles) discussed his research and scientific career in a presentation entitled "Physiology in the 21st Century-A Case Study on SGLTs."

On the national level, Chairs heard a presentation focusing on workforce issues by Sandra Degen (Univ. of Cincinnati) entitled "Outcomes and Implications of the NIH Biomedical Workforce Report." She was a member of the NIH Taskforce and reported on its charge, analysis of data garnered



ACDP President Marshall (Chip) Montrose presents Irena Levitan with the 6th Guyton Lectureship Award.

from various sources and external input, and its consequent recommendations to NIH.

Tony Mazzaschi (AAMC) gave an update on "Reaffirming Academic Research's Social Contract in Fiscally Perilous Times." He talked about the current climate in Washington, DC after the recent election and about the potential upcoming "fiscal cliff."

Dee Silverthorn (Univ. of Texas, Austin) notified the group about the new credentialing issues being faced by some universities and sought input from the chairs on how to address them. They also received an update on APS activities and issues facing the discipline of physiology from APS Executive Director, Martin Frank.

An extended discussion was held on the recently announced changes to the AAMC's Council of Academic Societies (CAS) being reformed into the Council of Faculty and Academic Societies (CFAS).

On a more departmental administrative level, a panel discussion of "Incentivizing, Creating, and Sustaining Cross-disciplinary Teams" was led by Patricia Molina (Louisiana State Univ., New Orleans), M. Bishr Omary (Univ. of Michigan), and Gary Sieck (Mayo Clinic).

James Pichert (Vanderbilt Univ.) facilitated a workshop for the chairs on "Addressing Challenging Colleagues and Situations Requires a Plan (and Skill)." Francisco (Paco) Andrade (Univ. of Kentucky) followed that with a presentation on "Time Management: Confessions, Strategies, and Discussion."

A new design for the ACDP logo was voted on by the members present. The final version will be shared with all members shortly.

The ACDP voted to support the David S. Bruce Awards for Undergraduate Research with a donation of \$2,000/year for the next three years. These awards are given by APS at the Experimental Biology meeting.

Officer elections were held with the following results. Michael Reid (Univ. of Kentucky) was elected President-elect, Chris Cheeseman (Univ. of Alberta) and Joseph Metzger (Univ. of Minnesota) were elected to three-year terms as Councilor. Marshall (Chip)



NOW Larimar Hotel, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic.

## ACDP Meeting Highlights\_\_\_\_

Montrose (Univ. of Cincinnati) was elected to a three-year term as a repre-

sentative to the Council of Faculty and Academic Societies (AAMC).



Gary Sieck (Mayo Clinic) was thanked for his service as Past President. Patricia Molina (Louisiana State Univ., New Orleans) and Michael Reid (Univ. of Kentucky) were thanked for their service as Councilors. L. Gabriel Navar (Tulane Univ.) was thanked for his long-time service and efforts as a representative to the Council for Academic Societies.

President-elect Marshall Muthu Periasamy (Ohio State Univ.) announced the 2013 ACDP annual fall meeting location is still under consideration. For more information on the 2013 meeting, watch the website (http://www.acdponline.org/) for news. ❖

## Wright Honored at Annual ACDP Meeting

The ACDP's highest award, the Distinguished Service Award, was presented to Ernest Wright, PhD, DSc, Distinguished Professor of Physiology, Mellinkoff Professor in Medicine, Department of Physiology, David Geffen School of Medicine, Univ. of California, Los Angeles, during the organization's 2012 fall meeting in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic. Marshall (Chip) Montrose (Univ. of Cincinnati), President of the Association of Chairs of Departments of Physiology (ACDP), presented the award.

Wright was selected to receive the ACDP Distinguished Service Award for his long and illustrious service as an institutional and national leader of physiology, and for his wonderful contributions to scientific discovery that have highlighted the importance and value of Physiology research.

Wright earned his BSc in Chemistry and Physiology at the Univ. of London, UK, and subsequently completed his PhD in Physiology at the Univ. of Sheffield, UK, under the supervision of David Smyth. He was a member of the faculty at Sheffield for two years, prior to undertaking a Research Fellowship at Harvard Medical School where he studied with Jared Diamond, Peter Curran, and Stanley Schultz in the Biophysics Laboratory headed by Arthur K. Solomon. In 1978, he was awarded a DSc in Physiology from the Univ. of London.

Wright joined the Department of Physiology at the Univ. of California at Los Angeles School of Medicine in 1967. He served as Chair of Physiology between 1987 and 2000. He was awarded the Sherman M. Mellinkoff Distinguished Professorship Medicine in 1999 and was appointed Distinguished Professor of Physiology in 2004. He was Visiting Professor at the Center for Advanced Studies at the National Polytechnic Institute in Mexico City in 1973, at the Max-Planck Institute for Biophysics in Frankfurt in 1974-75, and at Queen Elizabeth College at the Univ. of London in 1977. Wright received the Janssen Award for Achievement in Digestive Sciences in 2004 and also became a Named Fellow of the Biophysical Society that year.

His research focuses on the general physiology of epithelial cells, especially those in the intestine, kidney, and brain, with special interest in the physiology, biochemistry, structure, molecular genetics and human genetics of sodium co-transport proteins, such as the Na+/glucose co-transporter. Wright was named a Fellow of the British Royal Society in 2005. He was elected as an Honorary Member of the Physiological Society (UK) and to the German National Academy of Science (Leopoldina) in 2006. The American Society for Nephrology selected Wright for the 2012 Homer W. Smith Award.

Because of his scientific endeavors; his dedicated service to the field of epithelial and transporter physiology and biophysics, and his distinguished service to APS, ACDP, and other scientific organizations, the ACDP was proud to present its 2012 Distinguished Service Award to Ernest Wright. •



ACDP President Marshall Montrose presents Ernest Wright with the 2012 Distinguished Service Award.