## **ACDP** Meeting

## Association of Chairs of Departments of Physiology Leadership Retreat Highlights

The Association of Chairs of Departments of Physiology (ACDP) held its annual Leadership Retreat at Dreams Sugar Bay Resort in St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands, on December 3-6, 2015.

President Michael Sturek (Indiana Univ. Sch. of Med.) developed a program focused on issues being currently faced by department chairs and the discipline of physiology.

Research talks included the ninth annual Arthur C. Guyton Lectureship given by Leslie Leinwand (Univ. of Colorado) titled "Redefining Snake Oil: Translating Python Biology to Mammalian Hearts." The new chair research presentation was by Alan Daugherty (Univ. of Kentucky) on "Serendipitous and Convoluted Pathways into the Renin Angiotensin System."

The 2015 ACDP Distinguished Service Award was presented to John E. Hall (Univ. of Mississippi Med. Ctr.),



ACDP President Michael Sturek presents Leslie Leinwand (*left*) with the 2015 ACDP Arthur Guyton Lectureship Award

who gave a much discussed talk on "The Ebb and Flow of Physiology and Physiology Departments: A Personal Perspective."

Four workshops were held based on topics selected by last year's attendees. The first was on "Undergraduate Physiology Curriculum," led by Erica Wehrwein (Michigan State Univ.) and T. Richard Nichols (Georgia Inst. of Technology). Wehrwein is the founder of a new Physiology Majors Interest Group within APS. ACDP members accepted the challenge issued to work on a new set of curriculum competencies for undergraduate physiology programs and to develop a revised set of the ACDP-APS List of Professional Skills for Physiology Trainees aimed at undergraduate students. These two projects will be ongoing over the year, with a progress report scheduled for the 2016 ACDP Leadership Retreat.

The second workshop was on "Chair Burnout: Identification, Coping, and Prevention" and included presentations by Irving Zucker (Univ. of Nebraska), Steven Houser (Temple Univ.), and L. Gabriel Navar (Tulane Univ.)

The third workshop switched the focus from chairs to faculty and was on "Conquering Burnout: Resilient Faculty" given by Kent Sanders (Univ. of Nevada). Both of these workshops generated much discussion and exchange of ideas among newer and more experienced chairs.

The final workshop focused on "Divisions and Virtual Physiology Departments" led by David Pollock (Univ. of Alabama-Birmingham) and Jonathan Geiger (Univ. of North Dakota). Neither university has a Department of Physiology anymore, and issues faced by physiologists scattered among different departments or divisions and how to best engender a sense of a virtual department in place of a physical one were discussed.

Martin Frank, APS Executive Director, updated the group on "Status and Initiatives of the APS."

Officer elections were held with the following results. Charles E. Wood (Univ. of Florida) was elected President-elect; Edward E. Morrison (Auburn Univ. Coll. of Vet. Med.) and Marlene A. Wilson (Univ. of South Carolina Sch. of Med.) were elected to 3-year terms as Councilors. Nicholas A. Delamere (Univ. of Arizona) was elected to a 3-year term as a representative to the Council of Faculty and Academic Societies (CFAS).

Nicholas A. Delamere (Univ. of Arizona) was thanked for his service as Past-President. Chris Cheeseman (Univ. of Alberta) and Joseph M. Metzger (Univ. of Minnesota) were thanked for their service as Councilors.

President-elect T. Richard Nichols (Georgia Inst. of Technology) announced the 2016 ACDP Leadership Retreat will be Dec. 8-11 at RIU Palace Cabo San Lucas in Los Cabos, Mexico. Note that the meeting will be 1 week later than normal because of hotel renovations. As details are available, they will be added to the 2016 meeting webpage at *acdponline.org*/.

The Leadership Retreat is open to chairs of departments of physiology or related areas, graduate directors in

physiology or related areas, medical/osteopathic/veterinary physiology course directors, and undergraduate program directors. The meeting will build on this year's topics and will continue to focus on leadership issues and other areas of broad interest to those audiences.



Dreams Sugar Bay Resort



ACDP Council. *Back (left to right)*: Edward Morrison, Janice Urban, Michael Sturek, Buck Hales, T. Richard Nichols, Nick Delamere. *Front (left to right)*: Elsa Mangiarua, Marlene Wilson, Kebreten Manaye, Charles Wood, Chris Cheeseman. Not pictured: Joseph Metzger, Pieter de Tombe, R. Clinton Webb

## Hall Honored at Annual ACDP Meeting

The highest award given by the Association of Chairs of Departments of Physiology (ACDP), the Distinguished Service Award, was awarded to John E. Hall, Arthur Guyton Professor and Chair of Physiology and Director of the Mississippi Center for Obesity Research at the University of Mississippi Medical Center (UMMC). Michael Sturek (Indiana Univ. Sch. of Med.), President of ACDP, presented the award during the organization's 2015 Leadership Retreat at Dreams Sugar Bay Resort in St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands.

Hall was selected to receive the ACDP Distinguished Service Award for leadership in the discipline of physiology, his dedication to educating the next generation of medical students through his *Textbook of Medical Physiology*, and his service to national and international organizations.

Hall received his PhD in physiology at Michigan State University and did postdoctoral training at UMMC before joining the faculty as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Physiology in 1976. He rose through the ranks under the leadership of Arthur C. Guyton until he was named to succeed him as chair of the department in 1989 and given the title as the Arthur Guyton Professor of Physiology. In addition, from 1996 to 2008, he served as the Director of the Center of Excellence in Cardiovascular-Renal Research at UMMC, and from 2005 to 2013 he also served as Associate Vice Chancellor for Research. In 2013, he became the founding director of the Mississippi Center for Obesity Research, a position he holds in conjunction with being chair of the department.

His major research interests include obesity and metabolic disorders, cardiovascular and renal disease, mechanisms of hypertension, mathematical modeling, and systems analyses. Recent research in the lab has focused on obesity and target organ injury, central nervous system mechanisms of obesity-induced hypertension, and how the molecular signaling pathways that regulate appetite, energy expenditure, and sympathetic activity are altered in obesity. Hall's lab uses genetic, molecular, and integrative physiological approaches in its research studies. His research has been



ACDP President Michael Sturek presents John E. Hall (right) with the 2015 ACDP Distinguished Service Award

funded by NHLBI since 1975, and he has been Director of a Program Project grant since 1988.

Hall has authored or co-authored over 550 publications and has written or edited 21 books, including the *Textbook of Medical Physiology*. He is former Editor-in-Chief of *Hypertension* and *American Journal of Physiology*—*Regulatory, Integrative and Comparative Physiology*.

Hall served as President of the American Physiological Society and the Inter-American Society of Hypertension, Chair of the Committee of Scientific Councils, and Chair of the Hypertension Council, AHA.

He has mentored over 125 postdoctoral fellows, graduate students, medical students, and undergraduate students, and many of the trainees in his lab have become leaders in cardiovascular research, academia, and industry.

Because of his scientific endeavors, his dedicated service to the field of physiology, and his distinguished service to APS and other scientific organizations, the ACDP was proud to present its 2015 Distinguished Service Award to John E. Hall.