

## **ACDP Distinguished Service Awardees**

The ACDP Distinguished Service Award is presented annually to someone who has given long and illustrious service to ACDP, physiology as a discipline, and/or the field of science in general.

The awardee is selected by the President in consultation with ACDP Council. Awardees receive all-expenses paid trip to the annual ACDP meeting.

The award was formally known as the Outstanding Teaching Award but in 1978 its focus and name were expanded to the current Distinguished Service Award.

Year	Name	Year		Name
2023	Merry L. Lindsey, Ph.D. Meharry Medical College	2022		Patricia E. Molina, M.D., Ph.D. Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center, New Orleans
2021	Walter F. Boron, M.D., Ph.D. Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine	2020	Leadership Retreat Cancelled	
2019	Gary C. Sieck, Ph.D. Mayo Clinic College of Medicine	2018		Celia D. Sladik, Ph.D. University of Colorado, Denver
2017	Hershel Raff, Ph.D. Medical College of Wisconsin	2016		Susan Barman, Ph.D. Michigan State University
2015	John E. Hall, Ph.D. Univ. of Mississippi Medical Center	2014		Michael J. Joyner, M.D. Mayo Clinic

2013		Allen W. Cowley, Jr., Ph.D. Medical College of Wisconsin	2012	Ernest M. Wright, Ph.D., D.Sc. Univ. of California, Los Angeles
2011		R. John Solaro, Ph.D. Univ. of Illinois, Chicago	2010	John A. Williams, M.D., Ph.D. Univ. of Michigan
2009		Phyllis M. Wise, Ph.D. Univ. of Washington	2008	Irving H. Zucker, Ph.D. Univ. of Nebraska Medical Center
2007	6	William H. Dantzler, M.D., Ph.D. Univ. of Arizona	2006	Antonio Scarpa, M.D., Ph.D. National Institutes of Health
2005		No awardee - Joint meeting with AAMC	2004	Daniel C. Tosteson, M.D. Harvard Medical School
2003		L. Gabriel Navar, Ph.D. Tulane Univ.	2002	Gabor Kaley, Ph.D. New York Medical College
2001		Mordecai P. Blaustein, M.D. Univ. of Maryland School of Medicine	2000	Paul C. Johnson, Ph.D. Univ. of Arizona School of Medicine
1999		F. Norman Briggs, Ph.D. Medical College of Virginia	1998	Norman R. Alpert, Ph.D. Univ. of Vermont College of Medicine

1997	Carlton C. Hunt, M.D. Washington Univ. School of Medicine	1996	Arthur C. Guyton, M.D. Univ. of Mississippi Medical Center
1995	Aubrey E. Taylor, Ph.D. Univ. of South Alabama College of Medicine	1994	Stanley G. Schultz, M.D. Univ. of Texas, Houston Medical School
1993	Edward J. Masoro, Ph.D. Univ. of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio	1992	Gerhard H. Giebisch, M.D. Yale Univ.
1991	No Awardee	1990	John T. Shepherd, M.D. Mayo Clinic & Foundation
1989	Walter C. Randall, Ph.D. Loyola Univ. Stritch School of Medicine	1988	William F. Ganong, M.D. Univ. of California, San Francisco
1987	Howard E. Morgan, M.D. Pennsylvania State Univ. Milton S. Hershey Medical Center	1986	Horace Davenport, Ph.D., Sc.D. Univ. of Michigan Medical School
1985	A. Clifford Barger, M.D. Harvard Univ. Medical School	1984	Harry D. Patton, M.D., Ph.D. Univ. of Washington School of Medicine
1983	Ernst Knobil, Ph.D. Univ. of Texas Medical School	1982	Hermann Rahn, Ph.D. Univ. at Buffalo

1981		Robert W. Berliner, M.D. Yale Univ. School of Medicine	1980	George Sayers, Ph.D. Case Western Reserve Univ.
1979	9	Ewald E. Selkurt, Ph.D. Indiana Univ. School of Medicine	1978	William F. Ganong, M.D. Univ. of California, San Francisco

## **Outstanding Teaching Awardees**

Year	Name	Year	Name
1977	C. Ladd Prosser, Ph.D. Univ. of Illinois, Urbana	1976	Robert M. Berne, M.D. Western Reserve Univ.
1975	Arthur C. Guyton, M.D. Univ. of Mississippi	1974	Julius H. Comroe, Jr., M.D. Univ. of California, San Francisco
1973	Maurice Visscher, M.D., Ph.D. Univ. of Minnesota	1972	Robert F. Pitts, M.D., Ph.D. Cornell Univ.